Associate Professor
Tim Downing
Prof Tim Downing
Position: Associate Professor
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room: 120201
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 5042359
Fax: 27 866 147129
Email: tim.downing@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (US)
Expertise: Cyanobacteriology, Cyanotoxinology, Environmental Microbiology, Aquatic Microbiology, Surface Water Quality

Prof Carminita Frost
Associate Professor Carminita Frost
Position: Associate Professor in Biochemistry
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room:  120327
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 5044123
Email: carminita.frost@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (UPE)
Expertise: Protein chemistry, Enzymology, Metabolic diseases

Prof Vaughan Oosthuizen
Prof Vaughan Oosthuizen
Position: Associate Professor in Biochemistry (HOD)
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room: 120205
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2441
Email: vaughan.oosthuizen@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (UPE)
Expertise: Immunology

Prof Maryna Van de Venter
Prof Maryna Van de Venter
Position: Associate Professor in Biochemistry
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room: 120301
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2813
Fax: 27 41 504 2814
Email: maryna.vandeventer@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (UPE)
Expertise: Medicinal Plants, Cell Biology, Diabetes, Cancer

Academic Staff
Dr Sharlene Govender
Dr Sharlene Govender
Position: Senior Lecturer in Microbiology
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room: 120206
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2347
Fax: 27 41 504 2814
Email: sharlene.govender@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc (Microbiology) (UKZN), PhD (Medical Microbiology) (University of Stellenbosch), Medical Biological Scientist HPCSA (MW 0009687)
Expertise: Medical Microbiology, Molecular Epidemiology, Antimicrobial drug resistance mechanisms
Responsibilities: Lecturing to undergraduate BSc, honours & Pharmacy students. Supervision of research projects allocated to Honours, Masters and doctoral students.

Dr Benesh Somai
Dr Benesh Somai
Position: Senior Lecturer in Microbiology
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room: 0305
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 5042608
Email: benesh.somai@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (Clemson University, South Carolina, USA)
Expertise: Fungal Genetics And Toxin Production, Molecular Biology, Antifungal Plant Extracts
Responsibilities: HoD: Biochemistry & Microbiology

Dr Saralene Williams
Dr Saralene Williams
Position: Lecturer: Biochemistry
Email: saralene.williams@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (Biochemistry)

Research Associate
NBeukes
Dr Natasha Beukes
Position: Post Doctoral Research Fellow
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room: 0319
Location: South Campus
Email: Natasha.Beukes@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD
Expertise: Enzymology & Protein chemistry
Responsibilities: Post-doc

Prof Ryno Naudé
Prof Ryno Naudé
Position: Research Associate in Biochemistry
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room: Biological Sciences (12-03-31)
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27-41-5042234/2441
Fax: 27-41-5041075
Email: ryno.naude@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (UPE)
Expertise: Enzymology, Protein Chemistry, Meat Science

Trevor Koekemoer
Dr Trevor Koekemoer
Position: Research Associate
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room: Room: 0331
Location: South Campus
Email: Trevor.Koekemoer@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD

Luanne Venables
Dr Luanne Venables
Position: Post-Doctoral Research Fellow
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room:  Room: 0331
Location: South Campus
Email: Luanne.Venables@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD

Simone Downing
Dr Simone Downing
Position: Post-Doctoral Research Fellow
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room: Room: 0331
Location: South Campus
Email: Simone.Downing@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD

Rianita Van Onselen
Dr Rianita Van Onselen
Position: Post-Doctoral Research Fellow
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room: Room: 0331
Location: South Campus
Email: Rianita.VanOnselen@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD

Technical
Mrs Wendy Wilde
Mrs Wendy Wilde
Position: Laboratory Technician (Microbiology)
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room: 120221
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2351
Fax: 27 41 504 2814
Email: wendy.wilde@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc Hons (Microbiology) (RU)

BuhleMtshemla
Ms Buhle Mtshemla
Position: Laboratory Technician
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room:  Room: 0330
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 504 40
Email: Buhle.Mtshemla@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc

Koosthuizen
Mr Kenneth Oosthuizen
Position: Laboratory Technician
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room: 0223
Location: South Campus
Phone: 0415042839
Email: kenneth.oosthuizen@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc

Jabulisile Madubedube
Ms Jabulisile Madubedube
Position:  Laboratory Technician
Department:  Mandela Uni Airborne Operations
Room: Room: 0328
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 504 2237
Email: Jabulisile.Madubedube@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MTech

Laboratory Assistant
Lynne Geseba
Lynne Geseba
Position: Lab Assistant (Microbiology & Biochemistry)
Phone: 27 41 504 2237
Email: lynne.geseba@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: Matric

Gratian Hewitt
Mr Gratian Hewitt
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room: 0326
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041- 504 2443
Fax: 041- 504 1038
Email: Gratian.Hewitt@mandela.ac.za

Mr Lawyer Mabulu
Mr Lawyer Mabulu
Position: Lab Assistant (Biochemistry)
Phone: 27 41 504 2237
Email: mmabulu@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: Matric

Administration
Rhiles
Ms Ronel Hiles
Position: Departmental Secretary
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room: 0306
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041-5042441
Email: Ronel.Hiles@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MPhil Conflict Transformation & Management