Change the world

Biochemistry and Microbiology


Associate Professor
Tim Downing
Prof Tim Downing
Position: Associate Professor
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room: 120201
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 5042359
Fax: 27 866 147129
Email: tim.downing@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (US)
Expertise: Cyanobacteriology, Cyanotoxinology, Environmental Microbiology, Aquatic Microbiology, Surface Water Quality

Prof Carminita Frost
Associate Professor Carminita Frost
Position: Associate Professor in Biochemistry
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room:  120327
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 5044123
Email: carminita.frost@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (UPE)
Expertise: Protein chemistry, Enzymology, Metabolic diseases

Prof Vaughan Oosthuizen
Prof Vaughan Oosthuizen
Position: Associate Professor in Biochemistry (HOD)
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room: 120205
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2441
Email: vaughan.oosthuizen@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (UPE)
Expertise: Immunology

Prof Saartjie Roux
Prof Saartjie Roux
Position: Associate Professor in Physiology
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room: 120307
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 5042132
Fax: 27 41 5042814
Email: saartjie.roux@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: DMed Sci (PU)
Expertise: Physiology, Diabetes, Neurophysiology, Medicinal Plants

Prof Maryna Van de Venter
Prof Maryna Van de Venter
Position: Associate Professor in Biochemistry
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room: 120301
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2813
Fax: 27 41 504 2814
Email: maryna.vandeventer@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (UPE)
Expertise: Medicinal Plants, Cell Biology, Diabetes, Cancer

Academic Staff
Dr Sandra Bowles
Dr Sandra Bowles
Position: Lecturer: Anatomy and Physiology
Phone: +27 41 504 1163
Email: Sandra.Bowles@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (Biochemistry)
Expertise: Immunology and cell biology

Dr Hajierah Davids
Dr Hajierah Davids
Position: Senior Lecturer in Physiology
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room: 12 0304
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 041 504 2019
Fax: 041 504 2814
Email: hajierah.davids@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (UPE)
Expertise: Cell Biology

Prof Gill Dealtry
Prof Gill Dealtry
Position: Director of the School of Biomolecular and Chemical Sciences
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room: 12 0302A
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 4273
Email: gill.dealtry@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (Essex, UK)
Expertise: Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, Immunology, Diabetes
Responsibilities: Chair Research Ethics Committee - Animals

Dr Sharlene Govender
Dr Sharlene Govender
Position: Senior Lecturer in Microbiology
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room: 120206
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2347
Fax: 27 41 504 2814
Email: sharlene.govender@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc (Microbiology) (UKZN), PhD (Medical Microbiology) (University of Stellenbosch), Medical Biological Scientist HPCSA (MW 0009687)
Expertise: Medical Microbiology, Molecular Epidemiology, Antimicrobial drug resistance mechanisms
Responsibilities: Lecturing to undergraduate BSc, honours & Pharmacy students. Supervision of research projects allocated to Honours, Masters and doctoral students.

Dr Anette Knight
Dr Anette Knight
Position: Lecturer: Physiology & Anatomy
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room: Building 512 Room 0119
Location: Missionvale Campus
Phone: +27 41 504 4240/1164
Email: anette.knight@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD and HED
Expertise: Physiological Zoology, Anatomy and Physiology
Responsibilities: Lecturing and research

Dr Janine MacKenzie
Dr Janine MacKenzie
Position: Lecturer: Anatomy & Physiology
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room: 512 118
Location: Missionvale Campus
Phone: +27 41 504 1165
Email: janine.macKenzie@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc Nutritional Science (FSU/ Germany), PhD Biochemistry (NMMU)
Expertise: Anatomy and Physiology, Nutrition, Diabetes, Medicinal Plants, HIV, Muscle Physiology

aprahaladh
Mrs Arisha Prahaladh
Position: Lecturer: Physiology
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room: 0302b Building 12
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 041 504 2439
Fax: 041 504 2814
Email: arisha.prahaladh@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc Physiology (University of Stellenbosch)
Expertise: Human Anatomy and Physiology

Dr Benesh Somai
Dr Benesh Somai
Position: Senior Lecturer in Microbiology
Phone: 27 41 5042608
Email: benesh.somai@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (Clemson University, South Carolina, USA)
Expertise: Fungal Genetics And Toxin Production, Molecular Biology, Plant pathology

Dr Saralene Williams
Dr Saralene Williams
Position: Lecturer: Biochemistry
Email: saralene.williams@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (Biochemistry)

Research Associate
NBeukes
Dr Natasha Beukes
Position: Post Doctoral Research Fellow
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room: 0319
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Email: Natasha.Beukes@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD
Expertise: Enzymology & Protein chemistry
Responsibilities: Post-doc

Prof Ryno Naudé
Prof Ryno Naudé
Position: Research Associate in Biochemistry
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room: Biological Sciences (12-03-31)
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27-41-5042234/2441
Fax: 27-41-5041075
Email: ryno.naude@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (UPE)
Expertise: Enzymology, Protein Chemistry, Meat Science

Administrative Staff
Ms Ronel Hiles
Ms Ronel Hiles
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room: 120306
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: +27415042441
Fax: +27415042814
Email: Ronel.Hiles@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BTech: Management (NMMU)

Technical
anitae
Miss Anita Erasmus
Position: Laboratory Technician
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room: 120204
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 041 5042654
Fax: 041 5041808
Email: anita.erasmus@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: National Diploma in Biomedical Technology
Responsibilities: Physiology and Departmental requisitions

Mrs Ansie Erasmus
Mrs Ansie Erasmus
Position: Laboratory Technician (Biochemistry & Microbiology)
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 4070
Fax: 27 41 504 2814
Email: ansie.erasmus@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: NDip: Clinical Pathology & Microbiology

Mrs Megan Fensham
Mrs Megan Fensham
Position: Laboratory Technician (Physiology)
Department: Academic Administration
Room: 0204
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2654
Fax: 27 41 504 2814
Email: megan.fensham@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc(Hons), HDE (UPE)
Responsibilities: Running of practicals for physiology and administration of grades/marksheets

nmatroos
Miss Nasstasja Matroos
Position: Laboratory Technician
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room: 0029
Location: Missionvale Campus
Phone: 0415041394
Email: Nasstasja.Matroos2@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc (Honours)

Mrs Wendy Wilde
Mrs Wendy Wilde
Position: Laboratory Technician (Microbiology)
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room: 120221
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2351
Fax: 27 41 504 2814
Email: wendy.wilde@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc Hons (Microbiology) (RU)

Laboratory Assistant
Lynne Geseba
Lynne Geseba
Position: Lab Assistant (Microbiology & Biochemistry)
Phone: 27 41 504 2237
Email: lynne.geseba@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: Matric

Gratian Hewitt
Mr Gratian Hewitt
Department: Biochemistry and Microbiology
Room: 0326
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 041- 504 2443
Fax: 041- 504 1038
Email: Gratian.Hewitt@nmmu.ac.za

Mr Lawyer Mabulu
Mr Lawyer Mabulu
Position: Lab Assistant (Biochemistry)
Phone: 27 41 504 2237
Email: mmabulu@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: Matric